This is hard. I have never done it. I have come close..lets say within 8-10 pounds…but I am not even close to that figure now especially since I just got back from vacation where I ate fried fish and chips and heavy seafood chowder….every chance I got. I am not going to tell you my weight or how much I need to lose because even my husband does not know that. He has a reasonable idea because he is a doctor and….well…he sees me up close and personal. But I don’t fill him in on the details. Just let me say that losing down to my marriage weight within this year is possible.
This is my plan. For my post menopausal body, the only method that has worked for me to lose weight consistently has been to go on a very low carb diet. I’ve done it and I have lost weight. By low carb, I mean very low carb…as in almost no carbs. You get carbs when you least expect it. Did you know green beans have carbs?! There you go…you get carbs….you don’t have to worry about it. Unless you are a super athlete exerciser..which I am not. If you are a super athlete exerciser and you go on a super low carb diet you must check your ketone levels daily. You do this by getting strips in the drug store to check your urine every morning. If you spill too many ketones you are putting your kidneys at risk and you need more carbs. If you can’t get Ketone strips, check with your doctor.

WHAT I WILL DO:
1. I have put a toothbrush, toothpaste, flossers and mouth wash in every bathroom and in the kitchen. The idea here is that I don’t like to eat after I brush my teeth. So, I will brush anytime I feel the munchies coming on. If you decide to do this, I suggest you get a soft, vibrating brush so you don’t hurt your gums with all this brushing.
2. This is an old trick, but it works. I will drink a large cup of water before eating or drinking anything.
3. Finally, I will tell everyone – hence the blogging. This will keep me accountable.

WHAT I WILL NOT DO:

If you look closely you will see ten minutes on my elliptical this morning. Pretty weak, I know! My plan is to add one minute to this each week. I am going to do the same with my rower.

What I will not do…and this is a promise. I will not talk incessantly about my diet to you or anyone else. I once ran into a very old friend of mine. I had not seen him since I first got married over 37 years ago. You know what he remembered about me? He remembered that I was always dieting. I shuddered at the thought of being such a dreadful bore. So I have another 59th year goal…( goal #3)to work hard at all my goals, but not let any of them take over my thoughts and conversations. Dieting and fitness will help me become healthy which can enable me to live more fully. But the act of dieting and getting fit are not, in themselves a full life.

