Goal number 1 for my 59th year is to grow in wisdom

That brings up the question: What is Wisdom and how do you grow in it?

One of my favorite authors, Eugene H Peterson, said this about wisdom in his introduction to the wisdom book of Proverbs in the Old Testament,

“Wisdom is the art of living skillfully in whatever actual conditions we find ourselves…..Wisdom has to do with becoming skillful in honoring our parents and raising our children, handling our money and conducting our sexual lives, going to work and exercising leadership, using words well and treating friends kindly, eating and drinking healthily, cultivating emotions within ourselves and attitudes toward others that make for peace…..Wisdom is living on earth as it is in heaven.”

After thinking about it, I decided on this plan.  I would look for people older than myself, and skilled in the areas Peterson mentioned.  Three women, quickly came to my mind.  I admired them all, in fact, the thought of being with them was a tiny bit intimidating because I did admire them so much. Contacting these women was something I had considered for years, but I had continually put off.  Why would they want to get to know me?  What if I ran out of things to talk about? These small doubts were just enough to make me not do what I really wanted to do.

But this year is different.  This year I am going to put aside any previous hesitation and get to know these remarkable women.

My plan for growing in wisdom:

1.  I will call each of the three women and ask if I can meet with them once a month for twelve months.

2.  I will prepare questions and send them ahead of the visit so they have time to think about them.

3.  I will ask if they mind if I blog about them.

My first ‘date’ has already been set for Thursday morning.  Parveen was born into Persian aristocracy, but married an American Naval officer and raised six children here in Annapolis.  Parveen and her daughter are both artists and authors.  I bumped into Parveen at the coffee and donut stand in front of Sunday School.  I had not seen her in six weeks.  She looked at me intently -as she always does- and the first thing out of her mouth was this, ” Everyone pays attention to the beginning and the end of their lives.  You need to pay attention to the middle.”

Now I ask you, who talks like that over a donut and coffee?  Parveen has had unusual life experiences. She looks deeply into all things, and is passionate about the people in her life. She intrigues me and I plan to get to know her  better and learn from her experience.   I’ll let you know how it goes. I am making my leap into this new year.

